Second Call for Papers

December 9-11, 2009 Coimbatore, INDIA http://www.mirlabs.org/nabic09/
Technical Society Involvements:
 IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society (TC on Soft Computing) International Fuzzy Systems Association International Neural Networks Society

All accepted papers will appear in conference proceedings published by the IEEE Computer SOCIETY and indexed by both EI (Compendex) and ISTF.

Submission of Papers

The World Congress on Nature and Biologically Inspired Computing (NABIC'09) brings together international researchers, developers, practitioners, and users. The aim is to build a 3 day platform where the concerned researchers /academicians /engineers from diverge regions of the world would converge to share their excitement and paradoxically, frustration towards the pursuit of building up of machines that would not be strictly algorithmic in nature and are capable of handling ambiguity, uncertainty etc. by applying common sense.

The theme for this symposium is "Nurturing Intelligent Computing Towards Advancement of Machine Intelligence".

The aim of NaBIC is to serve as a forum to present current and future work as well as to exchange research ideas in this field. NABIC'09 invites authors to submit their original and unpublished work that demonstrates current research in all areas of Nature and Biologically Inspired Computing, as well as proposals for workshops, industrial presentations, demonstrations, and tutorials.

Authors should submit an electronic version of papers using the submission system at Submission of Paper can be through following link:-

http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=nabic09

Submitted papers should be original and contain contributions of theoretical, experimental or application nature, or be unique experience reports.

Papers must be submitted no later than June 26, 2009 and electronic submission in PDF is required. The page limit for a full-length paper should consist of six pages.

Short papers describing novel research visions, work-in-progress or less mature results are also welcome, with the limit of 4 pages.

All submissions should be in the IEEE 8.5 two-column format. Papers should contain up to 5 keywords. Papers will be evaluated for originality, significance,

clarity, and soundness, and will be reviewed by at least three independent reviewers.

Deadline for Paper Submission: 26 June'09 Notification for Acceptance: 14 Aug'09

Deadline for Camera Ready Manuscript: 14 Sept'09

Special Sesssion/Workshops

The organizing committee solicits proposals for organizing special sessions/workshops in the intended areas of NaBIC'09. Please submit proposals to the respective chairs.

Student Research Symposium

NaBICh'09 has kept a seperate slot for encouraging students to present their research findings before an international audience.

Interested students or supervisors should contact the student symposium chair for this.

The papers are solicited in the following (but not limited) Areas:

- Artificial Neural Networks
- Biodegradability Prediction
- Cellular Automata
- · Evolutionary Algorithms
- Swarm lintelligence
- Emergent Systems
- Artificial Life

- Lindenmayer Systems
- Digital Organisms
- Artificial Immune Systems
- Membrane Computing
- Simulated Annealing
- Communication Networks and Protocols
- Computing with Words
- Common Sense Computing
- · Cognitive Modeling and Architecture
- Connectionism
- Metaheuristics
- Hybrid Approaches

Industrial Applications of Nature and Biologically Inspired Computing Information Retrieval

- Robotics
- · Fault Diagnosis
- Bioinformatics
- · Web Intelligence
- Speech Processing
- · Business Information Systems
- Knowledge Management
- Evolvable Hardware
- Image and Signal Processing
- Pattern Recognition
- Traffic and Transportation System
- · Decision Analysis
- Data Mining
- Computer Vision
- Information and Communication Technology
- Control System

Important Dates

Deadline for Paper Submission: 26 June'09 Notification for Acceptance: 14 Aug'09

Deadline for Camera Ready Manuscript: 14 Sept'09

Conference Committees

Honorary Chair

R. Rudramoorthy

PSG College of Technology, INDIA

General Co-Chairs

Suash Deb, C. V. Raman College of Engineering, INDIA Ajith Abraham, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NORWAY Francisco Herrera, University of Granada, SPAIN

Program Co-Chairs

G. A. Vijayalakshmi Pai, PSG College of Technology, INDIA Chandrasekharan Rajendran, Indian Institute of Technology, INDIA Andre Carvalho, University of Sao Paulo at Sao Carlos, BRAZIL

International Co-Chairs

Kalyanmoy Deb, Indian Institute of Technology, INDIA
Janusz Kacprzyk, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND
Takeshi Yamakawa, Kyushu Institute of Technology, JAPAN
Nikhil R. Pal, Indian Statistical Institute, INDIA
Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, CANADA
Ashraf Saad, Armstrong Atlantic State University, USA
Albert Zomaya, The University of Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Amit Konar, Jadavpur University, INDIA
Dipti Srinivasan, National University of Singapore, SINGAPORE

International Advisory Committee

Dharma P. Agrawal, University of Cincinnati, USA David Al-Dabass, Nottingham Trent University, UK Bruno Apolloni, University of Milano, ITALY Yuehui Chen, University of Jinan, CHINA Diane J. Cook, Washington State University, USA Sunil R. Das, University of Ottawa, CANADA P. K. Dash, Silicon Institute of Technology, INDIA Joydeep Ghosh, University of Texas at Austin, USA Saman K. Halgamuge, University of Melbourne, AUSTRALIA Lawrence Hall, University of South Florida, USA Aboul Ella Hassanien, Cairo University, GIZA Hisao Ishibuchi, Osaka Prefecture University, JAPAN Etienne E. Kerre, Ghent University, BELGIUM Sukanta K. Mohapatra, VPI systems, USA Sudarshan Padhy, Utkal University, INDIA Sankar K. Pal, Indian Statistical Institute, INDIA Imre J. Rudas, Budapest Tech, HUNGARY Vaclav Snasel, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, CZECH REPUBLIC Patrick Siarry, Université Paris 12 (LiSSi), FRANCE

Hideyuki Takagi, Kyushu University, JAPAN

Preeti Bajaj, G.H.Raisoni College of Engineering, INDIA

Workshop Chair Daniela Zaharie. West University of Timisoara, ROMANIA dzaharie@info.uvt.ro **Special Session Chairs** X. Z. Gao, Helsinki University of Technology, FINLAND gao@cc.hut.fi Mario Koeppen, Kyushu Institute of Technology, JAPAN mkoeppen@ieee.org Sponsorship Chair B. K. Panigrahi, Indian Institute of Technology, NEW DELHI International Programme Committee (Full list is provided on the conference web site) Student Symposium Chair Basabi Chakraborty Iwate Prefectural University, JAPAN For all additional information, please consult: http://www.mirlabs.org/nabic09/