NABIC 09 - Second Call for Papers PDF Print E-mail
Second Call for Papers

World Congress on Nature & Biologically Inspired Computing (NaBIC

December 9-11, 2009
Coimbatore, INDIA
Technical Society Involvements:

- IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society (TC on Soft Computing)
- International Fuzzy Systems Association
- International Neural Networks Society


All accepted papers will appear in conference proceedings published by
the IEEE Computer SOCIETY and indexed by both EI (Compendex) and ISTP

Submission of Papers

The World Congress on Nature and Biologically Inspired Computing
(NABIC'09) brings together international researchers,developers,
practitioners, and users. The aim is to build a 3 day platform where
the concerned researchers /academicians /engineers from diverge
regions of the world would converge to share their excitement and
paradoxically, frustration towards the pursuit of building up of
machines that would not be strictly algorithmic in nature and are
capable of handling ambiguity, uncertainty etc. by applying common
The theme for this symposium is "Nurturing Intelligent Computing
Towards Advancement of Machine Intelligence".

The aim of NaBIC is to serve as a forum to present current and future
work as well as to exchange research ideas in this field. NABIC'09
invites authors to submit their original and unpublished work that
demonstrates current research in all areas of Nature and Biologically
Inspired Computing, as well as proposals for workshops, industrial
presentations, demonstrations, and tutorials.
Authors should submit an electronic version of papers using the
submission system at Submission of Paper can be through following

Submitted papers should be original and contain contributions of
theoretical, experimental or application nature, or be unique
experience reports.

Papers must be submitted no later than June 26, 2009 and electronic
submission in PDF is required. The page limit for a full-length paper
should consist of  six pages.
Short papers describing novel research visions, work-in-progress or
less mature results are also welcome, with the limit of 4 pages.

All submissions should be in the IEEE 8.5 two-column format. Papers
should contain up to 5 keywords. Papers will be evaluated for
originality, significance,
clarity, and soundness, and will be reviewed by at least three
independent reviewers.

Deadline for Paper Submission : 26 June’09
Notification for Acceptance :   14 Aug’09
Deadline for Camera Ready Manuscript : 14 Sept’09

Special Sesssion/Workshops

The organizing committee solicits proposals for organizing special
sessions/workshops in the intended areas
of NaBIC'09. Please submit proposals to the respective chairs.

Student Research Symposium

NaBICh'09 has kept a seperate slot for encouraging students to present
their research findings before an international
Interested students or supervisors should contact the student
symposium chair for this.

The papers are solicited in the following (but not limited) Areas:

•  Artificial Neural Networks
•  Biodegradability Prediction
•  Cellular Automata
•  Evolutionary Algorithms
•  Swarm Iintelligence
•  Emergent Systems
•  Artificial Life
•  Lindenmayer Systems
•  Digital Organisms
•  Artificial Immune Systems
•  Membrane Computing
•  Simulated Annealing
•  Communication Networks and Protocols
•  Computing with Words
•  Common Sense Computing
•  Cognitive Modeling and Architecture
•  Connectionism
•  Metaheuristics
•  Hybrid Approaches

Industrial Applications of Nature and Biologically Inspired Computing
Information Retrieval
•  Robotics
•  Fault Diagnosis
•  Bioinformatics
•  Web Intelligence
•  Speech Processing
•  Business Information Systems
•  Knowledge Management
•  Evolvable Hardware
•  Image and Signal Processing
•  Pattern Recognition
•  Traffic and Transportation System
•  Decision Analysis
•  Data Mining
•  Computer Vision
•  Information and Communication Technology
•  Control System

Important Dates

Deadline for Paper Submission : 26 June’09
Notification for Acceptance :   14 Aug’09
Deadline for Camera Ready Manuscript : 14 Sept’09

Conference Committees

Honorary Chair
R. Rudramoorthy
PSG College of Technology, INDIA

General Co-Chairs
Suash Deb, C. V. Raman College of Engineering, INDIA
Ajith Abraham, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NORWAY
Francisco Herrera, University of Granada, SPAIN

Program Co-Chairs
G. A. Vijayalakshmi Pai, PSG College of Technology, INDIA
Chandrasekharan Rajendran, Indian Institute of Technology, INDIA
Andre Carvalho, University of Sao Paulo at Sao Carlos, BRAZIL

International Co-Chairs
Kalyanmoy Deb, Indian Institute of Technology, INDIA
Janusz Kacprzyk, Polish Academy of Sciences,  POLAND
Takeshi Yamakawa,Kyushu Institute of Technology, JAPAN
Nikhil R. Pal, Indian Statistical Institute, INDIA
Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, CANADA
Ashraf Saad, Armstrong Atlantic State University, USA
Albert Zomaya,The University of Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Amit Konar, Jadavpur University, INDIA
Dipti Srinivasan, National University of Singapore, SINGAPORE

International Advisory Committee
Dharma P. Agrawal, University of Cincinnati, USA
David Al-Dabass, Nottingham Trent University, UK
Bruno Apolloni, University of Milano, ITALY
Yuehui Chen,  University of Jinan, CHINA
Diane J. Cook,  Washington State University, USA
Sunil R. Das, University of Ottawa, CANADA
P. K . Dash, Silicon Institute of Technology, INDIA
Joydeep Ghosh,  University of Texas at Austin, USA
Saman K. Halgamuge, University of Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Lawrence Hall,  University of South Florida, USA
Aboul Ella Hassanien,  Cairo University , GIZA
Hisao Ishibuchi,  Osaka Prefecture University, JAPAN
Etienne E. Kerre, Ghent University, BELGIUM
Sukanta K. Mohapatra, VPI systems, USA
Sudarshan Padhy,  Utkal University, INDIA
Sankar K. Pal,  Indian Statistical Institute, INDIA
Imre J. Rudas,  Budapest Tech, HUNGARY
Vaclav Snasel, VSB-Technical University of Ostrava, CZECH REPUBLIC
Patrick  Siarry, Université  Paris 12  (LiSSi), FRANCE
Hideyuki Takagi,  Kyushu University , JAPAN
Preeti Bajaj, G.H.Raisoni College of Engineering, INDIA

Workshop Chair
Daniela Zaharie. West University of Timisoara, ROMANIA
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Special Session Chairs
X. Z. Gao, Helsinki University of Technology, FINLAND
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Mario Koeppen,Kyushu Institute of Technology, JAPAN
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Sponsorship Chair
B. K. Panigrahi, Indian Institute of Technology, NEW DELHI

International Programme Committee

(Full list is provided on the conference web site)

Student Symposium Chair

Basabi Chakraborty
Iwate Prefectural University, JAPAN

For all additional information, please consult: